Mozilla Firefox's New Private Browsing


Mozilla Firefox just updated their new Private Browsing feature on their Web Browser. They call it “Private Browsing”. It is located at the Menu and choose New Private Window. You will then be taken to the new Private Window telling that “You’re browsing privately”, also stated on that page that your History, Searches, Cookies and Temporary Files weren’t saved, only the downloads and Bookmarks.

What does Private Browsing not save?

  • Visited pages: No pages will be added to the list of sites in the History menu, the Library window's history list, or the Awesome Bar address list.
  • Form and Search Bar entries: Nothing you enter into text boxes on web pages or the Search bar will be saved for Form autocomplete.
  • Passwords: No new passwords will be saved.
  • Download List entries: No files you download will be listed in the Downloads Window after you turn off Private Browsing.
  • Cookies: Cookies store information about websites you visit such as site preferences, login status, and data used by plugins like Adobe Flash. Cookies can also be used by third parties to track you across websites. For more info about tracking, see How do I turn on the Do Not Track feature?
  • Cached Web Content and Offline Web Content and User Data: No temporary Internet files (cached files) or files that websites save for offline use will be saved. 
Note:

    New bookmarks you create while using Private Browsing will be saved.
    Any files you download to your computer while using Private Browsing will be saved.
    Firefox Hello is not available in Private Browsing.


But Mozilla is kind enough to note:

Please note that your employer or Internet service provider can still track the pages you visit. (Tee hee)

Private Browsing - Use Firefox without saving history

As you browse the web, Firefox remembers lots of information for you - like the sites you've visited. There may be times, however, when you don't want people with access to your computer to see this information, such as when shopping for a present. Private Browsing allows you to browse the Internet without saving any information about which sites and pages you’ve visited.

Private Browsing also includes Tracking Protection in Private Browsing, which prevents companies from tracking your browsing history across multiple sites. To learn more about Private Browsing with Tracking Protection in Firefox, see Tracking Protection in Private Browsing.

We'll show you how it works.

Important: Private Browsing doesn't make you anonymous on the Internet. Your Internet service provider, employer, or the sites themselves can still track what pages you visit. Private Browsing also doesn't protect you from keyloggers or spyware that may be installed on your computer.

 For more info about Mozilla Private Browsing please read it here.


Previous
Next Post »